Training & Safety

Training & Safety is responsible for Fire and EMS training of all St. Lucie County Fire District firefighters. This division is also directly involved with health, safety and exposure risk management for the fire district. 


Mission

The mission of the St. Lucie County Fire District's Training and Safety Division is to provide comprehensive and effective training for our Fire District professionals. We strive to be innovative and creative in the development and delivery of quality training programs, while also fostering professional development among our personnel.

Projects

Some of the many ongoing projects include:
  • ACLS/CPR Recertification
  • Annual Airport Training
  • EMT/Paramedic Refresher, Recertification
  • Emergency Vehicle Operator Course
  • Field Training Officer Program
  • Fire Officer Compliance
  • Firefighter Candidate Orientation
  • Firefighter Survival/RIT
  • Hazardous Materials Response Training
  • High Rise Firefighting
  • Incident Command/NIMS
  • Infection Prevention / Immunization


  • Medical Review Board
  • Officer Development
  • Paramedic Apprenticeship
  • Pump Operator Compliance
  • Quality Assurance/Quality Improvement
  • Radiological Emergency Response
  • Research and Development Program
  • Standard Operating Guidelines Development/Revision
  • Video and Audio Development
  • Wildland Firefighting

Training Division Chief

Division Chief Chad Crouse

Training Chief Chad Crouse
772-621-3440
ccrouse@slcfd.org

Training & Safety Division Personnel

Lieutenant Shane Kozac
Lt. AJ Young
FF/PM Oscar Leiva

Lt. Shane Kozac
772-621-6448
skozac@slcfd.org

Lt. A.J. Young
772-621-3445
ayoung@slcfd.org

FF/PM Oscar Leiva
772-621-3443
oleiva@slcfd.org

Lt. Dan Fontanals
Lt.  Jonathan Fraga
Lt. Ryan Prussing

Lt.  Daniel Fontanals
772-621-3444
dfontanals@slcfd.org

Lt. Jonathan Fraga
772-621-3449
jfraga@slcfd.org

Lt. Ryan Prussing
772-621-3441
rprussing@slcfd.org